...i have no idea what day of training i'm on. perhaps i'll count at home later. right now i just know that i'm starting to get in deep. starting to get into the realm of no return.
...despite the ridiculous heat here in stl, i laced up my running shoes wednesday right after work. i didn't even stop to look at the temperature that was displayed on my indoor/outdoor atmoic clock -- i just got dressed and went out the door. on my way out i had the fun idea of wearing a cold/wet bandana around my neck. i soaked one up, tied it on, pushed play on my ipod and away i went.
...i set a small goal of 3 quality miles, not wanting to overdo it. up a couple hills, down a couple hills...all the way out to the next major road and turning around to do it again in reverse. the bandana was quite helpful for the first 15-20 mins. after that it was just a warm/wet something around my neck. perhaps i'll wrap some ice in it next time. home i ended and walked for a few before trapsing up the stairs to my apartment. i felt good...good enough to keep going. but this weekend is going to be a substantial longer run, so i need to keep focus and not expend myself all in one workout.
...i ran again last night, but waited for the cool of evening. there was a great breeze and a friend of mine and i ran in the dark and savored the only cool air we'd felt all week. another good run.
...saturday is my 10-11 miler. i'm not that stressed about it...but it's going to be arduous, especially if this heat holds. i purchased a new running toy -- a fuel belt (http://www.fuelbelt.com/). this will be incredibly helpful for the coming weekends and i plan on debuting it saturday.

...my parents are in town tonight to go to the muny and celebrate the summer birthdays that got skipped due to too much other junk going on. should make for some good fun -- and a cramped weekend as i also have to work saturday and sunday and attend steve's reunion on saturday night...
...someday i'll sleep...
No comments:
Post a Comment