November 2, 2005

...momma said there'd be days like this...

...mornings...i hate them.

i hate them for so many reasons. first of all, i hate getting out of bed. i love my bed...and i really love it at 6:00 am when it's cold outside the covers and my alarm has gone off. at that point i would marry the bed if it meant i didn't have to leave it. i love to snuggle deep into the covers and sink into my pillow. aaahhhh...well, enough about that. i'm getting relaxed just thinking about it, and that's no good while trying to get work done.

so this morning started off as all mornings do with the alarm playing some good country music at the crack of dawn and me slamming the snooze button with more force than is necessary. the snooze button was well-used this morning and i finally got out of bed around a quarter to seven. not exactly the early start i was hoping for.

i gave myself several excuses why the gym was a bad idea this morning, but my better conscious overruled so i threw on my running shoes, shorts, and tank-top to hit the treadmill. about 5 mins after i left the house i realized a fatal error in my preparation -- i had forgotten my headphones. for those of you that run, you will immediately realize my dilema. running is a great activity and very fun and interesting when you're outdoors...indoors is completely another story. the repetitiveness of the treadmill leaves you slack-jawed and bored out of your skull within 15 mins. so here i am stuck at the gym with no headphones and a 50 minute run ahead of me. somehow i knew the closed-captioning on the tv wouldn't be sufficient. oh well...i'll just suck it up and do it.

began my run at 7:21:00...at 7:21:15 i realized there was a serious problem. the singlet i had grabbed to run in was way too loose and my chest was bouncing a lot more than it should for a high impact activity. actually, it downright hurt! i am by no means a small woman and strain like that is very noticeable. soooo...after 15 seconds of actually running, i quit. well, not really quit...i slowed down the pace to a fast walk, jacked the incline to 9% and hiked for 1/2 hour. after 30 mins i left the gym in a huff, jumped in the car, and ran home for a non-deserved shower and breakfast. to say i was irked is an understatement.

i just hope this isn't an indication of how the rest of my day will go...

3 comments:

Shane said...

Mornings suck ...

The Cod God said...

why run when you can drive?

Rachel said...

hahahah. I've done that. definitely need a sports bra and headphones!