November 4, 2005

...merrily we run along...

...convincing blogsultant to go for a run last night was like convincing a 3 year old to give up his tootsie roll pop -- not going to happen easily. but eventually i did what every good woman knows how to do (from birth) -- whine...a lot. so he went. :)

decided to run our happy rear-ends to blockbuster since i needed to return movies anyway. roommie also had to return movies, so i'm two-fisting it with 2 dvd's in each hand down hampton ave. at 9pm...to say i drew some interesting looks is putting it mildly. (i know you're reading this, dad...and no, i will never run at this time of night by myself...only b/c i had the ever protective boyfriend did i venture out.)

blockbuster is 1.9 miles from my apartment building...so 2 miles out and 2 miles back. all in all it took 40:00; however, that is taking into account the 3 mins we had to wait at one traffic light to cross. so i'm pretty confidant that i was keeping a good pace. about 2.5 miles into the run i hit a happy place. just a feeling of pure contentment and ease. i could keep running forever. it gave way slightly as blogsultant (or in this instance "seabiscuit") kept speeding up toward the end. i yelled out "hey seabiscuit, i know you see the finish line but wait for meeeeeeeee....." it was a good run.

came home, drank propel, folded laundry and chilled on the couch. a good night all around.

4 comments:

Rachel said...

sounds like a great run....and a great way to multi-task!

Erin Nicole said...

yeah, looking back it's a good thing someone didn't jump out and grab the movies! *L*

Shane said...

Get your Conceal and Carry ... Of course if you're in running atire it's pretty hard to conceal. However, knowing this state and St. Louis in general, if you were to blow someone away defending yourself you'd probably end up in jail. Another reason I like Florida ... They recognize the right of a person to defend themselves with deadly force. Yes... I'm a right-wing nut-job.

And before I post, the word verification is funny ... "FYIIPMS" that's too good.

Anonymous said...

So that was you on hampton..JK there are way weirder folks to be found on hampton. Now if you were running on Jamison, then you might be the odd one.