July 17, 2007

day 16

...ok, things are not going as well as i'd like. it's been a combination of problems this past week given my best friend's wedding that occupied every waking minute between thursday morning to sunday night. i missed a total of 3 runs and i'm shamed for it.

i'll get to a wedding report later -- perhaps tomorrow. for now, i'll concentrate on the workouts i have gotten in after missing all of the weekend.

yesterday was a cross-training day -- a perfect "get back on the wagon" opportunity. i decided to do some stationary bike and weights at the gym. i ended up only doing the bike as i really got into my workout.

i'm not a big stationary bike person. i have no idea what the tension was set at -- i do know that i was pedaling at a decent effort and hitting around 88 RPM. i kept this pace for 10 mins and then slowed for 90 seconds to let my heart rate slow. then i began again, trying for a bigger effort. i was able to keep the RPM closer to 95 for the next 10 mins and then let the speed drop again to rest. my final push lasted only 8 minutes; however, i kept the RPM above 100 for the first 6 minutes and then above 115 for the final 2 minutes. i felt quite good after the workout and my leg muscles twitched with use (in that good way) for awhile afterwards.

today was the first speed workout of the training and i should have known better than to push it too much. yeah -- it was a failure. my goal was quality 4-5 miles. i ended up doing more of a fledging 3.5 miles. several problems with the run:
1. i am still exhausted from the weekend
2. although i felt that i had been hydrating myself sufficiently -- i could feel the dehydration draining my strength away
3. i was wearing a new pair of running shorts that are cut a bit higher and i forgot to put on body glide -- 'nuff said
4. the sports bra i chose was not a good choice -- 'nuff said x2
5. i have never run fartlek before and i think i over-ran some of my segments too early in the run

in the end, i still felt like i got a decent run in -- i just didn't quite make my goal. i did enjoy picking up the pace during the up-tempo segments. i just need to figure out what my upper pace feels like so i don't over/under-do it. i'm looking forward to tomorrow's recovery run to hopefully feel "in the groove again".

for any female runners out there -- can anyone suggest a good runner's sports bra for a lady with a larger chest? i'm a slender girl with decent sized boobs and i'm really having a hard time finding a running bra that i like.

bed time...i'm starting to really enjoy this part of the day... :)

2 comments:

RosieBoo said...

Good luck on the training Erin! I'm pumped you are coming to Louisville...we'll have to meet up for coffee or hometown cuisine. :)

Rachel said...

Sounds like you're really getting in the workouts! Be sure you schedule recovery time too.

Spinning is an awesome cross-training workout. So is swimming. It's hard to get adjusted to the spinning bike at first. Make sure it's a spinning bike and not a recumbant--you'll get a better workout. Also, keep the rpm's high to allow adequate recovery for your legs while maintaining a high heart rate.

Don't know what to say about the sports bra thing. Sounds like you need a running specialty store.