...i've been wondering lately if my life is uneventful, or if i've just gotten bored with my own activities. granted, i am busy every night of the week -- but when asked what i'm up to i generally respond with "nothing much". is that really the way it is? i feel i fill my life with activities that i enjoy but that not a lot of other people do...therefore it's hard to get excited telling others what i've been up to when they don't share the same zeal. i mean, who cares that i spent 6 hours playing the settlers of catan? i do...but does anyone else? does it even make sense that i'm excited that i landed an 8,9,5 spot with 3 different resources and it puts me in the best position to start the game? (if you don't play settlers you're quickly understanding why people get glazed over when i start talking about my life...)
...*sigh* i think i'm bound to live a slightly lonely life where i have my own little bubble of enjoyment. i'll play settlers, run 6 miles, clean the house, and have the best day ever! -- i guess that makes me an oddball, but at least i know who i am and what i like.
...blogsultant and i run into this problem when we talk on the phone. he finds my details a bit boring and i can't stand having every story he tells be about work. in the end we both just say good-night and promise to talk more the next day. but the next day is the same where all i have to talk about is how i prepared my dinner and practiced german and he struggled with coding at work. we do much better in person -- but during the week it's hard to break out of that "weekday" mentality. it used to get in the way, but i think we've both learned how to deal with it and figured out that's it's better sometimes to not hold onto the phone and to just get some sleep. sometimes the call is a formality, but it's always appreciated even when it doesn't seem to be all that substantial.
...so should i be actively trying to change this type of mentality or is it normal and not of concern? i don't feel out of touch necessarily -- just find it hard to share common interests with other people due to my skewed view of what is "fun". any suggestions or comments would be appreciated...i'd just love to hear what you have to say.
3 comments:
Erin,
Ok, I LOVE settlers of catan!! I played it with a couple who I'm great friends with that recently moved away, so I'm missing it terribly, but, rock on on the sweet start in the game!
I struggle with the exact same thing and tell people I've embraced my quirkyness and geeky-ness. It takes very little to make my day happy, and I'm busy every night of the week too.
Part of it for me is that my job is not easy to explain, so rarely does anyone take time for me to give the hour explanation. Granted I'm detailed oriented, but my job is also complex. I simply state, "I'm in marketing for a technology publishing company" and leave it at that.
Also, once I get a blank stare response about something in my life, I'm not quick to share it again. A personal problem I have to work through
I've always thought this was a reason why I'm still single...because of my extreme uniqueness - I'm thrilled to know another "unique" has her blogconsultant. :)
You can't NOT do what makes you happy just because others find it less than exciting. I think the reason everyone asks "anything exciting going on" or "anything happening", is because we're all really in the same boat. We all have our Catan game in a way. I spent 2 hours last night watching The Amazing Race, and the rest of the time cleaning, cooking and doing laundry. Or, theres the thing of people asking "What did you do this weekend?" My reply..."worked". It doesn't matter what my work consists of, it is just enough for people to know I worked, which tends to do the opposite of spark an attentive ear! I say, don't be "normal" be HAPPY :)
rosie--how fun that we continue to find ways in which we are kindred spirits! :) i have the same problem explaining what i do at work to people. people either A) think i can cure cancer or B) want me to stop talking b/c it reminds them of their horrid biology classes from high school.
i think another problem i encounter is that i feel self-conscious for being an "over-achiever". i've been called that and worse for all the stuff i do on a weekly basis.
i do think that you'll find your "blogsultant" someday. mine was hidden but came to me at the right time. God works in mysterious, yet wonderful ways regarding that kind of thing. as a sister in uniqueness i'll pray and hope that God's timing is sooner rather than later! :)
anonymous--i suppose i've always felt like a soicial outcast. that stems from my upbringing and my inability to make a close circle of friends in high school. college was a bit easier due to a more wide-range of people available to befriend; however, i don't think i ever quite recovered from being one of the teased kids back in the day. for all my accomplishments and "over-achieving", why is it that i can't master the one thing i've always wanted to -- social grace? i would love to learn to relate to people in a way that inspires more than a "hey, how 'ya doing?" conversation.
Post a Comment