December 8, 2005

...not a creature was stirring...

...i love snow. i love standing outside in the silence listening to it fall. it makes the most beautiful sound against the backdrop of a world that just wants to stay in bed for the day.

...i woke this morning disappointed to see that no snow had fallen. we were promised that at some point through the night, snow would begin to fall and accumulate and would shower until sometime mid-morning today. at 7:30 when there was no snow, i actually frowned. most of you are probably thinking i'm crazy -- especially if you know st. louis drivers and how bad they attempt to traverse the city in bad weather; however, i really was looking forward to the first snow of the year.

...about 8:20 i got my wish. the snow didn't just start...it began to pour from the sky. as i look out the window from work it's still coming down. we're expected to get up to 3 inches when it's all said and done. some parts of missouri got 1 foot of snow last night! wow!

...i love this time of year. right before christmas, getting in the holiday spirit and watching the snow fall. it reminds me of God's grace: falling around me silently, encompassing me at all times, beautiful and perfect.

...happy holidays everyone!

3 comments:

Kevin Yates said...

nice imagery all around there Erin.

I have mixed emotions about snow. growing up in Nashville, we never experienced much snow at all...a lot of ice storms. My first real exposure to snow was when I moved up here to Louisville. the reason I have mixed emotions is because like missouri drivers...kentucky drivers cant drive in snow either.

however, i will say that snow in and of itself is great...I look forward to sledding and stuff this weekend if it hits us. I am assuming that we are on the tail end of the storm front that moved through your area this morning. We were promised 3-6 inches as well, but to this point we havent seen much at all. it snowed "Gi-normous" snowflakes a few hours ago for about 15 minutes, but since then only sleet.

Erin Nicole said...

sounds like a slippery drive home. :( please be safe!

Jules said...

I totally agree, Erin! we were only supposed to get 1-3 inches, and we go 5! woohoo!