March 31, 2006

...i am certifiably insane

march 31st, 5:30am, second overnight shift of the week...i'm now 12 1/2 hours in with 2 1/2 still to go...

that's right, i'm working a 15 hour shift today/last night/this morning...whatever.

so let's recap the last couple days: at work we were presented with an experiment that would require 48 hour monitoring of some mice. i, being a total night owl, volunteered for the overnight shifts. in preparation for the late nights, i pushed myself to stay up late tuesday night and slept in wednesday morning. wednesday night i went into work around 6pm and finished around 4am.

...here's where it gets fun...

i arrive home at 4am wound like a clock. am not tired...can't sleep. i decide to flip channels which is an exercise in futility as at 4am nothing is on but infomercials and "girls gone wild" ads. around 5am i'm feeling drowsy, so i shut off the tv and slip into a shallow sleep. i know it's shallow...b/c had i actually been asleep, i don't think i would have heard the phone ring at 6am (1 hour later). it's my parents...they were concerned about my safety since i'd been alone working all night. they also thought that i had to work later than i actually did. no big deal -- we hung up quickly and i went back to sleep. 9:30am -- the landscapers outside start tilling the ground...all effort to sleep at this point is futile and i get up around 10:30 and basically lay around the house for the next couple hours.

fast forward to 5pm thursday...i get into work a bit early to make up a few more hours and see a coworker still hanging around...in fact, i know she's been here since 6am and doesn't look like she's leaving any time soon. she's also the person taking the early morning timepoint the next morning (friday--today). we chat and seems that she could use the rest more than me, so i volunteer to stick it out a few more hours and finish all the timepoints myself. so instead of heading home at 4am...i'm still here at work. i'll be done around 8am and will crawl into my bed praying that the rain we had tonight keeps the landscapers away in the morning.




...i can't wait to sleep...

1 comment:

Rachel said...

ooh. that sucks. it's so hard to re-train your body to sleep-wake with the rest of the world after that adventure.