February 14, 2006

...vacation recap

...well, i've been back from vacation for a week now and am finally feeling caught up at work. home is another story since my bedroom still looks like my luggage puked all over the place. i have clothes on every surface of the room as well as mail piled up across the floor. it honestly makes me a bit nauseous to look at (see definition of OCD). tonight i plan on being home, so the cleaning shall commence!

...so what did i do in grand colorado? well, we all know i love to ski, so that was definitely part of it. but i also met steve's new nephew, made some new friends, looked at ice sculptures, experienced the horror of driving in a white out, and conquered some expert ski runs that i never dreamed possible.

...we arrived in denver on monday evening and were picked up by steve's sis. we drove to her house and were met by her hubby and the new baby -- jack. little jack is so precious -- he coos and cries (it alternates) and loves to be held and rocked. i loved playing with him and holding him and being the one to help him stop crying.

...after a few days visiting we headed up the mountains to ski. steve had helped locate a wonderful condo that was slopeside in breckenridge for a very affordable rate! we were so ready to get up there and join the group -- but the normal 90 min. drive to summitt county was made substantially longer by the weather conditions. snow began before we got to idaho springs and continued to get worse as we approached loveland pass. by the time we had reached the eisenhower tunnel we were in a complete white out, only able to drive based on the tail lights of the car in front of us. it was crazy -- and a bit scary!

...we reached the condo safely and met up with the entire group. everyone was really nice and excited for the skiing that was going to be taking place for the next 4 days. the weather continued to be snowy and we woke the next day to fresh powder on the mountain and snow continuing to fall. that first day we had 11" of snow while we were skiing!!

...we skiied breckenridge 2 days and vail 2 days. it was super cold and windy, but worth every minute. the only bad thing is how much it made me realize that hidden valley (ski "resort" in eureka, mo where i patrol) sucks. :)

...enjoy the remaining pictures, unfortunantly they don't do justice to the beauty of the mountains.



2 comments:

Jules said...

sounds like you had a blast!!!

Shane said...

Sign me up ... :)

Hopefully I can get out there after I've moved all my crap to the new place. I gots ta take me a vacation to somewhere I've never been.